Docker and getting started with RubyBench

Hey, folks. I’ve made a few attempts at getting Rails Ruby Bench (GitHub - noahgibbs/rails_ruby_bench: A Rails-based benchmark for Ruby development) to run properly in RubyBench.org, and I’m now trying to buckle down and make it happen.

I’ve been mostly not using Docker properly for this, partly because I’m new to it, so I’m not sure what to do with a bunch of the errors I’m seeing. So, some questions:

1. It looks like most of the Dockerfiles build based on “rubybench/ruby_releases_base:20170213.1”, and it looks like that isn’t pushed. So I basically need to build something named that and hope it’s similar enough, or I need to modify the Dockerfiles to use rubybench/ruby_releases_base:latest. I say it isn’t pushed because I can’t seem to pull it. Am I doing something wrong? I’ve also had that just fail to build, probably because of transient apt package problems, though it’s building again now. As I recall from long, painful Puppet and Vagrant experience, sometimes your upstream dependencies are just currently busted – and in the case of Ubuntu “apt-get update”, they’re also not effectively versioned. So if they’re currently broken you just lose.

2. It looks like most people wouldn’t usually have this problem because they would use scripts/XXXX/releases.sh, which pulls an existing container which is built on rubybench.org or similar. That’s cool. And once my new container is working right, that should be fine for me too. But I’m guessing that means the intermediate containers (e.g. rubybench/ruby_releases_base:20170213.1) just don’t get pushed, since it’s assumed other people aren’t building containers. Is that right?